Inclusive Excellence Committee

The Committee on Inclusive Excellence (CIE) began as a working group in 2017 and became the newest organizational committee in 2018. The CIE works to operationalize inclusive excellence within NORDP, to realize NORDP's goal to "foster a culture of inclusive excellence by actively promoting and supporting diversity, inclusion and equity in all its forms to expand our worldview, enrich our work, and elevate our profession." This committee serves to advise NORDP leadership and committees toward creating and maintaining a welcoming and supportive environment for all NORDP members, partners, and affiliates. To ensure the integration of these values throughout NORDP, the CIE has representatives on all other NORDP committees.


  • Gretchen Kiser, University of California San Francisco (representative to Strategic Alliances Committee)
  • Etta Ward, Indiana University – Purdue University, Indianapolis (Board Co-Chair; representative to Mentoring Committee)


  • Vanity Campbell, University of California, Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources (representative to Member Services)
  • Kelly Chavez Rose, Burroughs Wellcome Fund
  • Barbara Sasso, University of the Pacific (representative to Professional Development Committee)
  • Barbara Walker, University of California Santa Barbara
  • Jennifer Glass, Eastern Michigan University
  • Melanie Steiner-Sherwood, University of Utah
  • Jocelyn Fenton Stitt, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • Eric Wayne Dickey, Western Oregon University